Providing Leadership and Service for Women Since 1983

Meet our Board Members

2018 Board of Directors


President: Dorothy Johnson

Dorothy Johsnon currently serves as Legislative Representative for the California State Association of Counties (CSAC) where she is the lead advocate on finance and administration policy on behalf of California’s 58 member counties.

She has been a Capitol Network Member since 2010 and joined the board as an At-Large Member in January 2015. She also served as Chair of the Mentorship Committee.

Over the last decade Dorothy has advocated for local government agencies on a variety of issues including governance and employee relations for the CA Special Districts Association and public works and public safety with the League of California Cities. She has also served as Grassroots Director for the American Heart Association’s Western States Affiliate and Senior Account Executive with Perry Communications Group. Her first experience in the Capitol was an Assembly intern but her affinity for lobbying came from an internship where she worked with local government agency and public service association clients at Shaw/Yoder, Inc (now Shaw/Yoder/Antwih).

Dorothy graduated with highest honors from the University of California, Davis with a BA in Sociology (Law and Society Emphasis) and Political Science.

Vice President: Rachael O’Brien 

Rachael is currently the Manager of Government Affairs at the Agricultural Council of California, representing approximately 15,000 farmers across the state of California, ranging from small, farmer-owned businesses, to some of the world’s best-known brands. In this capacity Rachael leads regulatory advocacy on air, energy, transportation, and pesticide use policy, in addition to planning board meetings, the Ag Council annual meeting, and other member activities. 

Prior to joining the Ag Council, Rachael served as a Legislative Advocate for Gonzalez, Quintana & Hunter, LLC, focusing on energy, water, air quality, CEQA, and tribal policy areas. Rachael also worked as an Associate for EcoConsult, a political environmental advocacy firm and held an internship position with Assembly Member Skinner’s Capitol office.

Rachael received a Bachelors Degree in International Relations and Global Politics from California State University, Monterey Bay. In her spare time, Rachael enjoys camping, hiking, traveling and spending time with family and friends. 

Secretary: Angela Pontes

Angela Pontes is currently Legislative Director for Assemblymember Cecilia Aguiar-Curry.


Prior to returning to the Capitol to serve in Assemblymember Richard S. Gordon's office, Angela worked in the Third House as a Legislative Coordinator and Advocate at Gonzalez, Quintana & Hunter, representing a range of clients. She also spent time working with the former First Lady of California, Maria Shriver, on her research and communications project titled "The Shriver Report: A Woman’s Nation Pushes Back from the Brink." Angela graduated from Georgetown University, where she majored in International Health and Spanish Language, and was also an NCAA Division I athlete.

Treasurer: Vanessa Garcia 

Vanessa Garcia is a Legislative Analyst for the Office of State Treasurer John Chiang. She is responsible for researching, tracking, and analyzing bills, testifying in legislative hearings and providing policy recommendations to the Treasurer. Vanessa was an Executive Fellow in the Capital Fellows Program from 2014-2015 and worked at both the Fair Political Practices Commission and the Department of Business Oversight during her fellowship year. As an undergraduate, Vanessa was a student lobbyist and executive on the University of California Student Association’s Board of Directors. Vanessa graduated from the University of California San Diego in 2014 with a B.S. in Cognitive Neuroscience and a B.A. in History.

Immediate Past President: Courtney Jensen

Members At Large:

Julie Phillips


Julie Phillips is Vice President of Public Affairs at Randle Communications, offering clients public affairs and public relations support. Previous to joining Randle Communications, Julie worked in the State Senate as a Legislative Aide and Communications Director. Julie is an alumni of the California Senate Fellowship program and serves on its alumni board of directors. Julie is a graduate of University of California, Davis.

Margo Parks

Margo Parks currently represents the Western States Petroleum Association.

Shelia Johnston 

Sheila Johnston is Vice President of Member Relations and Administration for the Association of California Healthcare Districts (ACHD). In this capacity, she is in charge of all educational events, membership and administration for the Association. In 2017 she served on the Mentorship Committee, assisting Board Member planning events and connecting mentees with mentors.  

Lauren Greenwood 

Lauren Greenwood is currently the Legislative Analyst for the California Cable & Telecommunications Association (CCTA) which serves members such as Comcast Cable, Time Warner Cable, Charter Communications and Cox Communications. 

Lauren completed the California Executive Fellowship Program at the California Energy Commission before joining CCTA. Lauren focused on the state’s pressing energy and transportation issues through website content development, supporting public private partnerships, driving stakeholder engagement, and participating in legislative and public comment work.

Prior to her state government experience, Lauren was a former associate at the Dewey Square Group. In this role, Lauren gained state and federal social services and health care policy knowledge as well as experience working with a large variety of local communities throughout California as well as Illinois. Lauren also aided in the production of high profile events and messaging for clients in a range of places including Greece and South Korea.

Lauren graduated from California State University, Sacramento, with a bachelor's degree in Economics.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software